College Awards

The College of Applied Health Sciences’ Executive Committee and dean are pleased to request nominations for the 2015 College of Applied Health Sciences College Awards.

Nominations are due by April 29, 2016 and should be sent electronically to Jon Santanni at All eligibility and nomination criteria can be found in the Award Guidelines.

Questions regarding the nomination process may be directed to Jon Santanni,

Community Partner Award

The purpose of the award is to honor a community partner who has shown exemplary commitment to providing opportunities for students to engage in and learn from the community and for collaboration with college faculty.

2009      El Valor
2010      Access Living
2011      Illinois Department of Rehabilitation Services, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
2012      No recipient
2013      Easter Seals Metropolitan Chicago
2014      William H. Brown School and Ms. Karie Sahly / Refugee Health Task Force

Educator of the Year Award

The purpose of the award is to honor educators who inspire students and transform their lives.

2012      Joy Hammel
2013      Sarah Parker Harris
2014      Valerie Prater

Humanitarian of the Year Award

The purpose of the award is to honor a faculty or staff member who regularly volunteers and performs impactful charitable and/or philanthropic work in the community.

2006      Phyllis Bowen
2007      Demetra John and Gail Fisher
2008      Fabricio E. Balcazar
2009      Joy Hammel and Katie Keiling Arnold
2010      Peter Berg
2011      Ann Cutler
2012      Beck Rothke
2013      No recipient
2014      Susan Magasi

Outstanding Academic Leadership Award

The purpose of the award is to honor faculty and staff who exemplify outstanding academic leadership.

2006      Alan Diamond
2007      Rachelle Stewart
2008      Mark Grabiner and Suzann Campbell DeLapp
2011      Yolanda Suarez-Balcazar
2012      Larry Pawola
2013      Elizabeth Peterson
2014      Karen Patena

Professor of the Year Award

The purpose of the award is to honor a faculty member’s exceptional contributions to scholarship, teaching and service.

2006      James Rimmer
2007      Suzann Campbell
2008      Daniel Corcos and Renee Taylor
2009      Gary Kielhofner
2010      Tamar Heller
2011      Fabricio E. Balcazar
2012      Glenn Fujiura
2013      Alex Aruin
2014      Mark Grabiner

Researcher of the Year Award

The purpose of the award is to honor a researcher who has demonstrated outstanding research achievements in his/her field of expertise over the past 18 months.

2012      Shane Phillips
2013      No recipient
2014      Tim Koh

Award Guidelines   |   Past Recipients


For information and tips about the NEW campus logo and branding, make sure to check out our FAQs!

UIC-themed PowerPoint templates and all NEW official logos for the campus, college and departments are always available for download (in multiple formats and sizes) through the Marketing Toolbox on the website of the UIC Office of Marketing and Brand Management.

Do you know something we don't? Easily report alumni e-mail/ home addresses and phone numbers by using this form. The information will be sent to the M.A.D. Team (Erika Chavez, Elise Krikau and Elizabeth Miller) in the dean's office, for proper entry into the university's database.